Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » DELETE_RECORD in when-validate-item (Forms 11G)
DELETE_RECORD in when-validate-item [message #631524] Wed, 14 January 2015 08:35 Go to next message
RaShi.Raj
Hi All,

I have a master and details block with a join relation. I have a 'Add' button in detail block. Clicking 'Add' creates a record (CREATE_RECORD) and assign primary key column with a value from a sequence. There is another NOT NULL item say ITEM1 on detail block. Suppose, if user clicks on 'Add' and enters to other blocks without entering any value for ITEM1, I get an oracle error "Unable to insert record - Mandatory column is missing" ( This is becasue we have 'POST'command in Clear_All_Master_Details procedure which fires after this operation). What I'm looking at is 'DELETE' this record if ITEM1 is NULL before it fires post. I don't want user to force entering value for ITEM1 for some reasons.
I cannot use DELETE_RECORD in When-Validate-Trigger (restricted builtin). I even tried to create Timer in WVI and deleting record in WHEN-TIMER-EXPIRED trigger but it isn't working. Any other workaround please?

Thanks,
Rashi
Re: DELETE_RECORD in when-validate-item [message #631527 is a reply to message #631524] Wed, 14 January 2015 09:26 Go to previous messageGo to next message
cookiemonster
Personally I'd refrain from populating any items in the detail block until after the user has started entering data themselves.
Re: DELETE_RECORD in when-validate-item [message #631533 is a reply to message #631527] Wed, 14 January 2015 12:51 Go to previous messageGo to next message
CraigB
Rashi,
Since you are POSTing data in your Clear-All-Master-Details trigger, couldn't simply execute a ROLLBACK?