Home » RDBMS Server » Server Administration » IDLE_TIME terminates the JDBC connection
IDLE_TIME terminates the JDBC connection [message #641577] Tue, 18 August 2015 07:29 Go to next message
sgautam
Hello Experts,

I am new to oracle database and facing some issues.

When user logged in the application (front end) and fetching the data, At the backend V$SESSIONS shows its session INACTIVE. I am not able to understand,why?

I have set the value of IDLE_TIME parameter to make sessions inactive to snipped. It is working but it also disconnect the datasource.
      After this no user can login from front end until I restart the datasource from application server (JBOSS server). What should I do?

Please help.

Thanks!
      • Attachment: sql.txt
        (Size: 0.35KB, Downloaded 1569 times)
      Re: IDLE_TIME terminates the JDBC connection [message #641578 is a reply to message #641577] Tue, 18 August 2015 07:47 Go to previous messageGo to next message
      Michel Cadot
      Account Moderator

Quote:
      When user logged in the application (front end) and fetching the data, At the backend V$SESSIONS shows its session INACTIVE. I am not able to understand,why?

INACTIVE means the session is not currently executing some code.
      For instance, between 2 SQL statements the session is inactive.

Quote:
      I have set the value of IDLE_TIME parameter to make sessions inactive to snipped. It is working but it also disconnect the datasource.

What do you mean by "datasource"?

Quote:
      What should I do?

If you are using connection pooling on your application server, you should NOT use IDLE_TIME.
      To avoid people at front end stay connected to the application server when idle, this later one should disconnect them from it, not the Oracle database snip the application server session.

[Updated on: Tue, 18 August 2015 07:47]

Report message to a moderator