Home » RDBMS Server » Security » SYSDBA login
icon6.gif  SYSDBA login [message #125666] Tue, 28 June 2005 09:49 Go to next message
dalimix
Hi all,
I’m new to the ORACLE environment.
I have installed the 9.2 version;I have created a tablespace and some users with their security configuration. The problem is that everyone can connect to the database as SYSDBA without user and password simply by selecting “sysdba” from the menu of the Oracle Enterprise Manager or other tools such as PL-SQL Developer!!

Why and what shoud I do?? Cool
Thanks in advance!

Dalimix
Re: SYSDBA login [message #125674 is a reply to message #125666] Tue, 28 June 2005 10:15 Go to previous messageGo to next message
rsone
Hi,

In your case, users are getting authenticated by Operating system but not through database authentication.

You can have users conencted upon authentication by database by giving them specific username and a password which would get stored in database and used every time they connect to database.

Reason for Sys user getting connected without any passowrd is...

While you created SID you would have not given password for it and hence sys and other users with sysdba is getting connected. You should make sure you always have internal or SYS user connected with non default password
(Default: change_on_install).
You can use ORADIM utility to recreate or edit ORACLE SID.

oradim -sid <sid> -edit <new password>

This lets you access sys user with specific password.

Ramana

Re: SYSDBA login [message #125680 is a reply to message #125674] Tue, 28 June 2005 10:57 Go to previous messageGo to next message
dalimix
Thanks Ramana,

but when I created SID i gave it the appropriate password, if you mean to SYS and SYSTEM users passwords.
I have changed the default: SYS: change_on_install
SYSTEM :MANAGER

But I can connect to the DB by sys or system users (using the new passwords) or simply by posting SYSDBA on the pull-down menu without any user.

Dalimix